Liberty Mutual Firemark Award

Recognizing local firefighters for valor and exceptional service.

firemark award winner’s helmet
Liberty Mutual is proud to support and celebrate all of the firefighters across the country who keep our friends, families and homes safe every day. That is why we created our Firemark Award program.

Every year we offer the Firemark Award for two categories that honor different aspects of the valor and selfless spirit demonstrated by firefighters who go beyond the call of duty to keep our communities safe.

Local Firemark Awards

  • Firemark Award for Community Service & Education: recognizes local firefighters who have given back to their communities beyond their daily responsibilities.
  • Firemark Award for Heroism: recognizes local firefighters who assisted in a life-saving effort without regard for their own personal safety.
National Firemark Awards
Two winners are selected every year from each category for the National Firemark Awards by our expert panel. The winning firefighters will receive a $10,000 donation to their fire department and a trip for four to New York City.

firemark award winner lyle dorschied
2014 Winner: Lyle Dorschied
Lyle Dorschied is president of the La Farge Fire Department in La Farge, WI and has been a member of the department for over 40 years. He is the winner of the 2014 National Firemark Award for Community Service & Education.

firemark award winner jordan sullivan
2014 Winner: Jordan Sullivan
Jordan Sullivan is a member of the New York City Fire Department in New York, NY. He is the winner of the 2014 National Firemark Award for Heroism.

firefighter that won a firemark award
Nominate a Firefighter
If you know a firefighter that best represents their community through their courageous acts and demonstrations of a firefighter's selfless spirit you can nominate them for the Liberty Mutual Insurance Firemark Award.

Fill out a nomination form and a Liberty Mutual Insurance representative will contact you and the local fire department in which the firefighter serves.

liberty mutual firemark award logo
Firemark Award Guidelines
Learn more about the details of the Liberty Mutual Firemark Awards.

Log In
Make policy changes, pay your bill, manage claims and more with 24/7 access.

First time here?

Manage your policies